?

Log in

No account? Create an account
 
 
01 February 2009 @ 08:38 am
Facebook Photo Privacy  
Anyone know exactly how the album privacy settings on facebook work? I've all my albums set to "Friends Only" for a variety of reasons so was a little disturbed this morning to find a comment on one from someone not on my friends list.

It's fine because, in this case, she is actually a friend, but I'm a little perturbed she was able to do this, presumably because a mutual friend was tagged in the album.

Does this mean if you tag someone in a photo suddenly all their friends can also see this photo? Because this makes me feel a little reticent about tagging people in future - not everyone wants their LARPing past advertised to their current social circle.
Tags:
 
 
 
king_pellinorking_pellinor on February 1st, 2009 10:29 am (UTC)
In the privacy section of settings, there's a "photos tagged of you" drop-down box, in which you can limit who gets to see them.

I don't think that affects who can see photos of the people you tag, which will depend on their own privacy settings. But you can limit who gets to know of your own shady past.

If you want privacy for your own photos, then I think tagging someone in an album is a potential route in for outside observers and so should be avoided. Although of course the better route to privacy is not to put them up on the net in the first place :-)
louisedennislouisedennis on February 1st, 2009 11:30 am (UTC)
I'm not all that worried about my own privacy but I did worry a little about tagging people in my Old Photos Album but reassured myself that pretty much only those who already knew could see them.

And there is a difference between "Only friends" can see this photo and "Only friends and Friends of friends". Looks like I may need to read the Facebook privacy fine print (if I can find it) quite carefully.
parrot_knightparrot_knight on February 1st, 2009 11:06 am (UTC)
As I've always understood it, 'Friends Only' should mean 'Friends Only'; I am guilty for doing the tagging which drew this other person to your pictures, but I didn't know that she would actually be able to see them.
louisedennislouisedennis on February 1st, 2009 11:32 am (UTC)
I've no problem with her seeing them, after all she is in them! but it is a feature of facebook privacy I wasn't aware of. Does this mean all her friends can also now see this photo? and more importantly, what other Facebook features can over-ride the "Friends Only setting"?
fififolle: Anyone? Ferris Bueller Iconfififolle on February 1st, 2009 02:27 pm (UTC)
I'm not entirely sure, but I know I can see pics in other people's profiles that they have been tagged in (that have nothing to do with me), but I also know that I have been tagged in photos and have been blocked access to them somehow, so it must be possible to block.
louisedennislouisedennis on February 1st, 2009 05:30 pm (UTC)
That's interesting. I wonder what's different in the settings?
sophievdennis on February 2nd, 2009 05:48 pm (UTC)
I got a bit worried after I saw your post. I do find Facebook a bit ambiguous about exactly how 'private' you can make things. So I went and trawled the Facebook FAQ for some answers.

I think the key factor here was that she's been tagged in the photo. I think you can probably see and comment on photos you are tagged in, regardless of the album privacy settings. However, piecing together other things, I suspect this access is limited to the person who is tagged, and doesn't give access to the photo to all *their* friends.

A few quotes from the Facebook Photo Help:

Clearly says that "Only Friends" means just that. In fact it says "When you set the privacy settings for a photo album, these settings will hold true even when your friends comment on your photo and a story appears in their Mini-Feed. People will only see this story in their Mini-Feed if they’re also able to view your photo album. "

On tagging it's not so clear, but it does say "A note about tagging: When you tag a friend in a photo, that photo will appear in their profile." and on tagging people who aren't on Facebook "They will be allowed to see the photos in which they are tagged, but nothing else".

But it also says in response to the question "How come it says there are more photos tagged of someone than I can actually see?" ... "The tagged photos that do not appear are most likely in an album with a restricted privacy setting. For example, if your friend is tagged in an album that is visible to 'friends only,' you will only be able to view the tagged photos in that album if you are also friends with the person who made the album."
lsellersficlsellersfic on February 3rd, 2009 09:45 am (UTC)
OK, I think that's acceptable. Though I also think "Friends Only" on material I put up on Facebook should mean precisely that irrespective of what tags other people put on it - however given that said other people could also take a copy and post where the hell they like I don't see much point making a fuss.

Almost tempted to make two new facebook accounts in order to test out various what can friends of friends see combinations...
louisedennislouisedennis on February 3rd, 2009 09:47 am (UTC)
Aarrh! and I thought I was getting better at this multiple identity thing.

I may have to start using Firefox as a web browser, apparently they have a plug-in which stops you making these sorts of mistakes.